Skip to main content

Pittsburgh Steelers Officially Announce 2022 Team Captains

Steelers logo.

The 2022 NFL season is right around the corner. This Monday morning, the Pittsburgh Steelers made a big decision in preparation of the fast-approaching football season. The AFC North franchise has announced its 2022 team captains, and the group includes a quarterback. 

Steelers players have voted running back Najee Harris, defensive lineman Cam Heyward, special teamer Miles Killebrew, quarterback Mitchell Trubisky and linebacker T.J. Watt as team captains. 

It's a clear indication the Steelers plan on starting Trubisky at quarterback this upcoming season. There had been some speculation Kenny Pickett could get the Week 1 start. 

"Steelers' players voted and this year's team captains are running back Najee Harris and quarterback Mitch Trubisky on offense, defensive tackle Cameron Heyward and linebacker T.J. Watt on defense and safety Miles Killebrew on special teams," the team announced.

Steelers players clearly believe in Trubisky. But make no mistake, Pickett will be the franchise quarterback at one point or another. It's only a matter of time. 

The Steelers kick off the 2022 campaign on Sept. 11 against the Cincinnati Bengals.